Black & Blue – Review

Black & Blue 

James-Patterson-Black-And-Blue-265x371.jpg

Author(s): James Patterson with Candice Fox

Pages: 176 pages

Publisher: Little Brown

Released: June 2nd, 2016

Series: James Patterson BOOKSHOTS and Detective Harriet Blue

Main Character(s): Harriet Blue, a young detective in Australia; Tox Barnes, a stubborn, arrogant detective with a past

Setting: Australia

Began: May 12th, 2017

Finished: May 12th, 2017

Goodreads Summary

James Patterson’s BookShots. Short, fast-paced, high-impact entertainment.

A beautiful young woman is found murdered on a river bank, and Detective Harriet Blue is convinced she’s the next victim of the worst serial killer Sydney has seen in decades.

But the more Harriet learns, the more she realises this murder is not what she first thought. And her own life might be tangled up in the case. 

What I Enjoyed

  1. I adore the idea of BookShots. Sometimes, novels can take so long to read and that causes less enjoyment, but I finished this little story on the couch in about two hours. 
  2. THE ENDING. Yes! It was such an unexpected turn, and I really hope that the story-line is continued within the actual Harriet Blue series. I would honestly read this little BookShot again to pick up on clues that may have been included within. 
  3. Harriet Blue is a tough, headstrong female detective that doesn’t take any crap from anyone. Who doesn’t love a good character that can hold her own?

What I Didn’t Like

  1. Detective Tox was stubborn throughout the entire book, and I didn’t particularly enjoy it. He seemed to be someone that doesn’t work well with others, and I wasn’t sure if it was specifically because Harriet was a woman or not. Either way, I could see him growing on me if he changed attitudes, but so far, meh.
  2. Seemed like there were two plots at once? I’m not sure what they were trying to get out of that.

    Wrap-Up

 

All in all, this was a great little read for one day. I am definitely going to pick up more BookShots when I get the chance. Thanks, Mom. 😉 (This was a Christmas present). I would recommend this book to anyone who was going on a plane, train, or automobile ride that want a quick, impressive read. My favorite thing about this book is the ending. 

Rating

4stars1

ISBN: 

1786530163 (ISBN13: 9781786530165)

Buy it at:

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Thriftbooks

Stay Sleuthy,

Clue

img_0281-2

One thought on “Black & Blue – Review

  1. Maybe I need to pick it up for my trip to Australia! 17 hours on the plane should be enough time to read it… 😉 And the book’s setting sounds absolutely perfect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

